I'm going to story tell a bit so it's not just a "what's your preference" kinda thread. Hopefully it not only gets me the answer I want, but helps others in a similar situation since I have extensive experience with the full sized ipad and mini.

Three years ago before the birth of my son I got an ipad 2. Loved it. It's came in handy for me numerous times over the years.

Recently I got my wife the ipad mini with retina and it's awesome. I heard complaints about color and screen but I don't see it. It's the perfect size with trade off for mobility and performance blows my ipad 2 out of the water.

But now my son is hijacking my ipad, my wife has her mini, and I'm left contemplating what should be my next device: the air or a second mini?

I've played with both and it only makes my decision harder. Here are my main 3 thoughts on the situation:

-I spend a lot of time at home, but appreciate mobility when out because we have to take a lot of crap with us. In all honesty, the mini is just flat out more convenient to carry and hold. Like a 14" laptop vs a 17" laptop. However, I typically just throw it under the stroller so it's not a huge benefit of convenience.

-I like the size of the mini side by side with my ipad - it's nicer and more comfortable in hand - but have a hard time telling if I'm bias because the quality of the retina screen, the ipad2 is bulky (especially with a case), and the performance. So I'm not sure if I actually like the mini or just the superior device. My test involved a series of board games. I appreciated the big enough but crisp picture on the mini, but couldn't help wondering how it would compare if I had the same quality picture on the ipad. And if it would be more comfortable in my hand if the ipad was more slim.