Can I have two totally separate calendar apps?

I

iMore Question

Hello,

I want to have two totally separate calendars on my iPad. I don't want them to sync or anything.

But every app I look at has to sync to the existing app?

I'm not tech savvy-can anyone help?

ThePinkChameleon

Trusted Member
Jul 8, 2011
Visit site
Ok, I'm not clever as I searched for Fantastical in the App store and it said no results?

Ok, quick question to make sure we understand what you'd like to do here. I'm understanding it as, you want 2 separate calendar apps so that you can use each one for separate things. Ie. calendar 1 for home items only and Fantastical for work items only. Is this correct?

If that's what your looking to do, then no. It can't be done because every new calendar app you download will want to access the native calendar app that comes preinstalled.

If that's not what your looking to do with 2 separate cal apps, then I apologize for mis-understanding.

Peligro911

Jun 1, 2011
Visit site
You can use the native app and add multiple calendars ie
Gmail and iCloud each will sync to each own server and then in the calendar app you can select what calendar to view or view both at once etc.

metllicamilitia

Ambassador
Dec 25, 2011
Visit site
Well as stated, you can create multiple calendars within the stock app and you can switch between them to see each specific calendars events. I had never tried to not sync my calendars into any of my third party calendar apps so I wouldn't have been much help at the start, but hopefully creating multiple calendars can be just as useful as separate apps for you.

Blazin' Tap Tap Tappity To You

richu75

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
You can just use multiple iCloud calendars and deselect one in in each app.

For instance, my fantastical setup:

fantastical.jpg

If I deselect all but 'Home' the others are still available in the default calendar.app.
So if I deselect 'Home' in de calendar.app Fantastical is the default 'Home' calendar.

Tiny-T