Apple Watch health - integration

podric

Dec 6, 2022
Visit site
Hello,

I want to wear my apple watch for many activities but when I am outdoors doing anything other that walking it comes off my wrist. I have a Garmin for that.

I have a Garmin device I was trying to bring data into Apple Health with; Garmin doesn't want to connect and even if it did it only sends over max/min heart rate data.

Then I thought I could use Strava as a middleman, by importing Garmin then exporting to Apple health. May 2022 Strava stopped allowing this stating they didn't want to send over duplicate information (clearly passive aggressive).

I am a programmer so I know how easy it is to transfer the data over so I am asking why is this happening.

Then I read Apple doesn't want to export health data either (heart/GPS stats), am I wrong on that?

No one wants to play nice in the Apple world sandbox. Does anyone have any insight other than these companies are fighting for market control and money? Any solutions?

thanks.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Companies will always be reluctant to share with other companies. They are not in the business to help it’s competitors. In regard to health data, I’m sure HIPAA rules apply to some degree, but I’m only speculating.

Last edited:

EdwinG

Ambassador
Mar 10, 2012
Visit site
Companies will always be reluctant to allow share with other companies. They are not in the business to help it’s competitors. In regard to health data, I’m sure HIPAA rules apply to some degree, but I’m only speculating.

Reading the GDPR article on data portability (article 20), which could apply in this case, it seems to me - as a regular person - it would be even mandatory to have that portability. I might be misinterpreting GDPR with health having special considerations (art. 9).