A Serious Athlete -- Using the Apple Watch

circlez

Nov 5, 2011
Visit site
First and foremost this post is mostly going to be going through my opinions on the Apple Watch purely as a fitness and training device because I just feel compelled to share my findings with the world, particularly in comparison to my Suunto Ambit 3 (which is a very reputable training device for those that don't know).

If this seems like it could be an interesting read to you, then sit back and get ready for the ride. Its going to be a doozy.

Where to begin? First, I'll start with a bit of background as to what I do. When I say 'serious athlete' I'm not saying I'm a professional sports trainer or pro level athlete, though I am a highly active 23 year old individual and competitor in certain sports. I rock climb--mainly bouldering and sport climbing competitively, practice martial arts competitively, and train for both of these on a regular basis on my own time (sometimes with the assistance of a trainer).

In my quest to become a greater athlete, I started my search for the assistance of a wearable device. I wanted something that could 1) handle my lifestyle, 2) give an accurate estimate [bit of an oxymoron, I know] on my caloric burn, 3) and measure my heart rate, heart rate zones, and recovery. My quest began with Garmin. I purchased a Garmin Vivofit as my first set of baby steps into the wearable market early last year, before the Apple Watch was a thought. I work at an outdoor gear shop part of the time as well, so many of these outdoor brands market products like this that I can get good deals on.