Thoughts after first run (pt 1 & 2)

pilotnh

Aug 6, 2009
Visit site
I've been reading this thread and especially your posts. I'm a novice runner but like accurate numbers. I was using Endomondo too except the last 5K I ran, it went nutty and had me at a mile after only a couple of hundred yards and it went downhill from there. I've had issues with the start button not working with Endo as well as Runtastic. How is iSmoothRun working out for you? I'll bet like me you can't wait for Watch OS 2.

dov1978

Trusted Member
Oct 22, 2014
Visit site
Are you on iOS 8.4? My Endomondo and Runkeeper have been going crazy too and Showing me running over 600 KM Per Hour when I'm sat perfectly still. I deleted Endomondo and Runkeeper has been better since and Nike+ app seems to be unaffected. If you Google 'ios 8.4 gps' you'll see tons of people saying this update screwed up GPS accuracy and assume this is what happened to mine and possibly yours

davsug

Mar 12, 2013
Visit site
So this is interesting and frustrating. I stopped using iSmoothRun a couple of weeks ago after it froze during several runs (an app problem not a GPS or watch problem), so I switched back to Endo, which has been perfectly accurate until this morning, when I ran a 4 mile run and it had my pace under 5 minutes/mile because the GPS was off by .25/mile from the start. I'm in the middle of marathon training so really hoping this isn't going to be a constant issue until the Sept update.

impaler

Sep 12, 2008
Visit site
It seems to me if you're training for a race as long as a marathon, you'd want a dedicated GPS watch. There are many good ones that are reliable and dedicated for serious runners. I don't think a gen 1 product like  Watch is intended for more than casual runners.

pilotnh

Aug 6, 2009
Visit site
I strongly disagree. When you pay $400 for a watch that claims to do fitness tracking, you should expect it to be accurate even in gen 1. The software may need a little refinement, but it should work.