Apple is failing to create a compelling use case for the Apple Watch. Thoughts?

jean15paul

Trusted Member
Jul 5, 2012
Visit site
It seems to me that Apple is failing to create a compelling use case for the Apple Watch. Hear me out.

First, let me say that I really like the idea of smartwatches. I've been using the Pebble for awhile now, and I really like it. That being said, I'm a tech nerd like most of the people on this site. In the past when a regular person asks me if they should get a smartwatch, my answer has always been, "If you don't absolutely know that you want one, then no you shouldn't." That's simply because there's been no need that a smartwatch fills. It's cool to get notifications on your wrist, but it's really not significantly more convenient than pulling out your phone, and acting on them on the watch is significantly harder, if not impossible.

I've been anxiously awaiting the Apple Watch because I expected Apple to change all that. Apple has always excelled at presenting a compelling use case to consumers, whether it's their various computers, the iPod, iPhone, or iPad. I thought once Apple makes a smartwatch it will be genuinely useful and fill a need, and at the same time it will improve all other smartwatches. A rising tide lifts all boats, as they say. I don't see where Apple has done that. They are presenting the same easily refuted arguments as Pebble and Samsung and Google. "It's cool; it's slightly more convenient;" etc. The Apple Watch does appear to be more capable than it's smartwatch competitors, but Apple doesn't seem to be effectively marketing it's capabilities. So it seems that we won't know if this is enough to justify it's purchase until people get them on their wrists and actually start using them.

I will say that Apple has very effectively created awareness for smartwatches. I've never gotten so many questions about my Pebble until after the Apple Watch unveiling.