Verizon assigned a number to my watch

newtoios

Feb 12, 2017
Visit site
It's technologically impossible from a network perspective to have the same phone number assigned to two active lines hence the different number assigned to the watch.
So is it like message forwarding in that the iPhone must be turned on for phone calls to come to the watch? Will FaceTime still go to the watch with the phone turned off?

I’m fairly new to the Apple ecosystem.

I thought that’s what “Continuity” was all about?

I’m really hesitant to enable call forwarding, I had a Samsung gear watch that I had to do that with.

It was a nightmare that somehow ended up screwing up the watch.

Tartarus

Ambassador
Feb 20, 2014
Visit site
It's technologically impossible from a network perspective to have the same phone number assigned to two active lines hence the different number assigned to the watch.
So is it like message forwarding in that the iPhone must be turned on for phone calls to come to the watch? Will FaceTime still go to the watch with the phone turned off?

The phone number assigned to the watch is a dormant number. It’s for the carrier to assign data allocation to the watch. Calling the assigned number to the watch will do nothing.

If you have enabled FaceTime on the LTE enabled Watch, you will receive FaceTime and FaceTime Audio on that watch even if the iPhone is turned off or not in the same place as the Watch.

Continuity is something else. It allows to start something on the  Watch and finish it on the iPhone. The other way around is as far as I know not yet possible though.

I hope this clears it up for you.

Tartarus

Ambassador
Feb 20, 2014
Visit site

I’m really hesitant to enable call forwarding, I had a Samsung gear watch that I had to do that with.

I have been using call forwarding for a year now and have yet to experience any issues with it.
I accept a phone call on the watch and continue talking on my phone a lot and it works like a charm.

ItnStln

Apr 3, 2010