Thoughts about HomePod, AirPlay 2, and Subwoofers

iBloke

Jun 19, 2013
Visit site
I’ve had my HomePod since the 9th February.
It’s been pretty much playing 24 hours a day since for Apple TV audio, and music whilst both sleeping and awake.

I live in a caravan temporarily while going through a divorce so I don’t have a lot of space, and the HomePod was purchased with this in mind.

I’m a live sound engineer of 30+ years and have been using a cobbled together 3000 watt (RMS) sound system that consists of two 10” mid + 1.75” compression driver (tweeter) speakers sitting on top of a single 2x12” bandpass subwoofer.
All rated at 1000 watts RMS each, and have extensive DSP (digital signal processing, for those who don’t know)

These speakers are physically big, and are designed to provide decent sound/coverage for live bands in a venue of up to about 200 people (I do have a lot more speakers for bigger venues though. Totalling 12000+ watts )
This is all I’ve had at my disposal to provide sound in my caravan during my divorce/settlement.
Totally Overkill for the living area I have, but running at almost idle they provide me with decent sound clarity, and an insane amount of low frequency thump and rumble while watching movies on Netflix. (Think about the powerful rumbling sound you hear/feel at the cinema)

Being completely entrenched in the Apple ecosystem, and 99.9% happy with All my Apple products, it was a no brainer for me to buy a HomePod in an attempt to scale down the physical size of my audio system to fit into the small space of a caravan.

Preamble finished.

Enter HomePod etc..

I’m mostly happy with it...
Subtract points for Siri, which sucks donkey bits.
Siri only responds to my “hey Siri” request about a third of the time.
I end up using manual Siri button more times than I ever thought possible.
I’ve never encountered this level of “Hey Siri” frustration with my iPhone’s, iPads, Watch, or MacBooks, which for the most part work flawlessly.