help buying a macbook

kanaka

Jun 16, 2017
Visit site
hello,
i am an expert windows, itunes for windows, and iphone user. ive never used a macbook but would like to buy one. i have basic needs: email, word processor, itunes to backup my iphone, wifi and ethernet connectivity. can anyone suggest a basic macbook for me? i dont know the difference between them all (pro, air, etc). what virus protection? is solid state as worry free and durable as i assume relative to a hard disc drive? do i need all extra years of tech support as i bought with my dells? is an apple certified refurbished laptop as trustworthy as a factory new one? really dont know what is best as i do with windows laptops.
thanks in advance!

anon(9602380)

Aug 14, 2015
Visit site
Welcome to iMore.

A basic MacBook or MacBook Air would more than suffice your needs. Personally I have never used an antivirus on any of the many MacBook or iMac's I have owned. Common sense usually will keep you safe. Only use trusted sites and the App Store.

I would buy AppleCare. I have always bought it on every one of my Apple devices. I've only ever had to use it once but it was worth every penny. Plus it give you great peace of mind.

As for refurbs, well they are ebery bit as good as new. They come with the same warranty and have been thoroughly tested. I have bought refurbed and never had an issue.

An SSD is very reliable and significantly faster than a standard hard drive. You can always use an external hard drive for storage.

kanaka

Jun 16, 2017
Visit site
thanks for the welcome!
and thanks for your input. my own research put me on the same page as you, so thats good.
thanks again!

Spencerdl

Apple Watch Champion
Jan 10, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to iMore. There was a couple of things I took into consideration when I started my research for purchasing a MacBook Pro/Air
1. My price range
2. New, refurbished or used
3. Warranty, Apple Care and/or Device Condition
4. What would I mostly be using it for