I am a software developer and have decided that I need to get into mobile development so that means I need a mac. The primary use for this will be development and general web browsing.

I will be writing most application using xamarin in visual studio and may play with writing some games using UNITY (I am a c# developer so it seems more natural for me to start with these frameworks). With that being said I will likely need to run a VM with windows on it that can run visual studio and UNITY.

I am not sure if the air is powerful enough to accomplish my needs. (There will never be any photo editing or rendering on this machine just a vm running windows that will be using visual studios, xamarin, and unity).

I may be doing some nodejs work on the machine also (But if it can handle the other situation this is a non-issue).

So what should I get?

Thanks
    07-06-2014 10:19 AM
    Go with one of the Pro models.
    07-06-2014 10:24 AM
    Thanks.

Any suggestion on how to configure?

I don't see a cpu upgrade helping me any but not sure about the 8GB or 16GB upgrade since 8GB seems low for trying to run a development environment in a VM.

Also is there an upgrade coming for the Pro in the next month or two that I should wait on?

Thanks again.
    07-06-2014 10:31 AM
    Get the16GB.
    But if you aren't planning on getting into iOS development, why do you want a Mac?
    But if you get only afford the 8GB, you can run Windows with Bootcamp which is booting directly into Windows rather than running a VM.
    07-06-2014 10:34 AM
    Thanks Karenkcoulter.

I will be doing iOS development just not native. To my understanding I will eventually have to switch to xcode in order to deploy the app so I need a mac for this step. I also believe that xamarin requires a mac for the build server and possibly the simulation(not sure on this just started looking into it).
    07-06-2014 10:46 AM
    Thanks Karenkcoulter.