MacBook Air vs Pro w/ Retina Display: processing speeds

Aniajulia

Jun 23, 2014
Visit site
Hello, I am a college student looking to buy a new laptop. I used to have the older MacBook Pro, from 2010. It was fine but became excruciatingly slow by the end and I ran out of memory/storage. I'm not very tech-savvy so I could use help ASAP, thanks.

I mostly type papers, use excel and MATLAB, have several apps running at the same time, stream videos from the internet, edit and store quite a lot of pictures (and some videos), store music, make PPT presentations, and run various programs/software.

Here is what I'm looking at, two laptops not sold directly from Apple stores.

$980 13.3-inch MacBook Air 1.3GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
Originally released June 2013
13.3-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit glossy widescreen display, 1440-by-900 resolution
4GB of 1600MHz LPDDR3 SDRAM
256GB flash storage
720p FaceTime HD camera
Intel HD Graphics 5000

Vs

$1230 13.3-inch MacBook Pro 2.6GHz Dual-core Intel Core i5 with Retina Display
Originally released February 2013
13.3-inch (diagonal) Retina display; 2560-by-1600 resolution at 227 pixels per inch

8GB of 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM

256GB Flash Storage

720p FaceTime HD Camera

Intel HD Graphics 4000

My main concern is processing speeds (1.3GHz vs 2.6GHz -- because I usually run many programs at once and can't stand it when programs crash or run very slowly), weight (2.96 pounds vs 3.57 pounds), and storage, though these both have 265GB. Could someone tell me what the difference would be if I went with 1.3GHz over the 2.6GHz?

Also could someone explain to me the parts I highlighted? Do they affect the speed at which apps and programs run?

I need to buy a laptop ASAP so any help is much appreciated! Thank you so much!

Algus

Apr 22, 2013
Visit site