Decision Time: Air Pods or Hue Lights?

trw1602

Trusted Member
Mar 8, 2014
Visit site
I usually buy my Apple gear during school season as I'm a student (taking me forrrrrever. Literally ) and I can't decide on Air Pods or Hue Lights.

If you have Hue Lights, what are some of the pros and cons?

If you have AirPods, what are the pros and cons?

If you have both, if you had to choose between them, which one would you choose and why?

Looking for input from Apple techies.

Sherry_B

Jan 15, 2016
Visit site
I don't have the AirPods (and will probably never get them), but we do have the Hue Lights.

For me personally, the Hue Lights in conjunction with either Siri or Alexa adds a lot of convenience, and in some respects adds to my quality of life (ie; being able to turn on all the lights in the house from my phone if I'm alone and hear a noise somewhere else in the house);

1: Having kitchen lights come on automatically (geo-fencing) when I come in range of my home either coming back from vacation, or coming back from the grocery store.

2: Having some lights on timers: upstairs hallway is super dark, and having a table lamp turn on at dusk and off at bedtime is one less thing in my daily schedule I have to worry about. Setting up all the lights on timers while we're on vacation, and if you have an Apple TV it can act as a base where you can remotely control the lights in your home.

3: Turning the lights on in the basement from my phone two floors up gives me a feeling of safety when I have to go down there to do laundry.

4: Being able to use either Siri or Alexa to turn lights on when your arms or hands are full.

5: Setting ambient lights in the living room for movies, ambient lights for romance in the bedroom, or different lighting scenes for working in my home office all from my phone or Alexa is super convenient.