Otterbox Armor or Preserver, need real world experience

mooch91

Jul 6, 2014
Visit site
All,

I'm brand new to the iPhone, just picked up a 5. I've currently got it in a hand-me-down Otterbox Defender case which has been my go-to model of case since I've been using phones. The Defender is nice, but I'd like something waterproof, which is available for the iPhone - hence the reason I'm looking at the Armor and the Preserver.

I've done some reading here, and most of the comparisons are between one of the two and the Defender, but I couldn't find any that compared the Armor and the Preserver directly.

Can anyone give me a real-world comparison?

Things that are important to me: (1) it lives up to its claims of being waterproof, dropproof, dustproof, etc.; (2) sound quality is very good with either the headset or the speaker; and (3) it will be durable.

Things that are less important to me: size and weight.

The Armor is available at an attractive price on Amazon right now ($27), but I fear that it's being closed out in favor of the Preserver, probably because of some issues with the case itself.

Any thoughts or advice?

Thanks!

Rockdog97

Oct 14, 2011
Visit site
I tried the Armor on my 4s and it sucked. Couldn't hear a darn thing and the case is like carrying a brick around...I returned mine and am using a Lifeproof case instead.

Check into a lifeproof case for your 5...much better than the Armor.. Not sure what the "preserver" case is though.

jmendel33

Nov 8, 2012
Visit site