I have a bluetooth GPS receiver. Can anyone give me ideas on how to use it with my iPhone? I'm new to the iPhone and wonder if I can continue to use the bluetooth GPS. What mapping would work with it?
    Thanks in advance...
    12-10-2009 10:04 AM
    I'm not sure you can connect anything except headsets via bluetooth. assuming you can for it to work would require companion software that works with it.

all mapping software requires the built-in gps of the 3g and 3gs or like tomtom and magellan, works with hardware through the dock connector

and since you didn't say what the receiver is we have no way of giving you a solid answer if it actually will work
    12-10-2009 10:12 AM
    I have a bluetooth GPS receiver. Can anyone give me ideas on how to use it with my iPhone? I'm new to the iPhone and wonder if I can continue to use the bluetooth GPS. What mapping would work with it?
    Thanks in advance...
    There's a high probability that you can if you jailbreak your phone. There's an app that will connect to BT receivers.
    12-10-2009 10:26 AM
    There's a high probability that you can if you jailbreak your phone. There's an app that will connect to BT receivers.
    if so, I doubt any app will work with it
    12-10-2009 10:29 AM
    if so, I doubt any app will work with it
    That's not what I read, but could be wrong. What I read was most BT receivers connect and that the majority of GPS apps see the receiver and function.

RoqBT and GPS Serial are two apps that allow connection to Navigon, TomTom and some others. Again, you do have to be jailbroken.
    Last edited by JohnH59; 12-10-2009 at 09:03 PM.
    12-10-2009 08:53 PM
    That's not what I read, but could be wrong. What I read was most BT receivers connect and that the majority of GPS apps see the receiver and function.

RoqBT and GPS Serial are two apps that allow connection to Navigon, TomTom and some others. Again, you do have to be jailbroken.