Windows 8

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
Are you going to be running it right away? What are you lookimg forward to most? I'm dying for it to go beta because I have a Technet subscription. I will definately be running the beta and then the official release as soon as it drops. I'm most looking forward to seeing the interface and the new reload option. The one that allows you to strip away the OS leaving data and programs then doing a quick re-install. This is going to save me so much time at work, well when we switch over that is:D

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
We talked about Windows 8 this week on the Convertcast. Ya know when I first saw the youtube videos showing off Windows 8 I thought it was a joke. Bad interface on a cell phone - worse interface on a desktop. What is MSFT thinking?!

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
The interface I think will work great on a tablet and phone. I don't think they are dumb enough to try and put a phone OS on a computer and the leaked shots of the beta look just like Windows 7 just prettier and tweaked. So I don't think they would do a radical overhaul in such a short time. I'm still excited to get my hands on it.

Bias X

Aug 2, 2011
Visit site
I almost put a leaked version onto my computer. But like Irish I'm going to wait.

As far as the metro UI goes, i highly doubt I'll ever want/use it.

ghostface147

Oct 1, 2009
Visit site
As a power user, I think the metro layer sucks in it's current pre-beta stage. As an IT person, I think it's great for management. Only give your users the tiles they need to work. None of that silly poking around some delinquent users do. Here is your computer, here are your programs, and get to work. No playing around.

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
The whole thing makes me glad I've switched to Mac at home and that the school system is too cheap to update, so Windows 9 will be out before they consider updating to 8.