Is the iPhone for "Tech-Illiterate " People?

Meliodas10

Nov 17, 2016
Visit site
Surely not! I am currently an undergraduate Computer Engineering student and I recently switched from a Galaxy Note 5 to an iPhone 7. It is great. People criticizing iPhones or Apple in general in my opinion are one of three:
1) never really tried the iPhone but went with what his peers were saying.
2) Just hates Apple! (Personal problem)
3) Actually used the iPhone and didn't like it (although I'm sure nobody used it and hated it completely, there is always exaggeration) and just can't see the fact that it is his personal preferences, and many many people (tech-savvy or not) just loved the iPhone for what is it and for their experience using it.

Besides, I'm guessing not less than 60% of Android-based smartphones users aren't tech-savvy or "geeks" either.
And my opinion, as someone who has experience with both platforms is that both are very good, both have their privileges over the other. So what? Are we going to keep arguing and debating which is the "best" smartphone OS? Technology is all about creativity, flexibility, and competition. So believe me it is great that there is many manufacturers and more than one "OS" in the market because that only pushes those tech companies to try harder and keep on improving their products.

So in the end: It all comes down to personal preference... and budget!

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site
I definitely think it's the best phone for people who aren't tech-savvy—BUT not because it's "dumbed down" or can't do all the things more tech-savvy people DO want to do. That, to me, is the great trick of the iPhone: it's interface is accessible to people new to the platform, but dig a little deeper and you'll find it can do almost anything you want.

By contrast, most "tech-illiterate" friends/family of mine who have tried Android devices end up frustrated with the UI/UX, as it feels much less intuitive to them.

emchris8

Oct 6, 2016
Visit site