Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By leharris22
  • 1 Post By jeffrey1027
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iPhone Intermediate

Default iPhone 4S on Canadian Carriers-4G?

I have a really stupid question. I assume that the iPhone 4S is not 4G capable, but I'm new to the whole iPhone world so I would like some clarification. Does the iPhone 4S run on the 4G network (where available) through Canadian carriers? Thanks.
    Randy b likes this.
    iPhone Intermediate

Global Posts
    702 Global Posts
    iOS Version
    iOS 5

4G=LTE and no iPhones currently support that network yet. Hopefully iPhone 5 will.
    Don't let the 4 in the iPhone name confuse you with 4g, it's just their 4th generation iPhone.
    The 4S is capable of running HSPA+ which has speeds of up to 14.1mps which is pretty fast
    Thanked by:
    leharris22 (10-09-2011)
    Randy b likes this.
    iMore Newbie

Global Posts
    77 Global Posts
    iOS Version

all the carriers in canada that currently have the iphone 4 will have the iphone 4s with the HSPA+ faster speed network
    Thanked by:
    leharris22 (10-09-2011)
  4. Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  
    iPhone Intermediate

Thanks for the clarification. I know there's a difference between a fast speed network and true 4G. I had assumed that the 4S is not compatible with LTE but wanted to confirm. But still, 14.1mps is really fast and I know my carrier has invested in the high speed network in my area, so it may be worth it.
    iPhone Newbie

iOS Version

Bell's page for iphone 4s didn't say anything about 4g. iPhone 4S White from Apple at Bell Mobility - Bell Canada
    Last edited by canadaiphonelover; 02-21-2012 at 03:43 PM.
  6. Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  
    iPhone Intermediate

I love my iPhone 4S but am already looking forward to the 4G capability. Hopefully the next iPhone will have this