Which new iOS features should game developers "worry about"?

PompiPompi

Feb 28, 2015
Visit site
I am a mobile game developer. I have an iPad 3(new), and iPod touch.
Both of these devices do not support Metal or GLES3 so I am eyeing either the iPhone 6 + or the iPad Air 2.
Ironically(or not) the bigger more powerful iPad Air2 is cheaper than iPhone 6 +.
However, I got a very old Note 1 phone which would be nice to replace with an iPhone 6+(as my personal phone).

Since iPhone 6+ is expensive(for me), I thought it would make sense to wait for the next iPhone announcement because then the iPhone 6+ might get cheaper.

However, what if the new iPhone 7 or whatever they announce have new technologies that are useful for game developer but they won't be available on iPhone 6+?

So I guess my question is, do you think there is going to be some sort of new technology relevant for game developers that won't be available for iPhone 6+?
I would think Metal and GLES3 are advanced enough that there might not be anything that will replace it.
Unless the iPhone 7 will have a newer version of Metal and GLESX that only it's chip will support the new features?

I guess it makes sense to wait anyway and only then decide if I should buy the iPhone6+ or something newer.

Ledsteplin

Ambassador
Oct 2, 2013
Visit site
I think most of the new tools available for developers came with iOS 8. But even if iOS 9 adds a few more, the 6+ will get them. I doubt they would be hardware features, except for maybe camera improvements. But that's just my opinion.

Sent from my ancient but trustworthy iPhone 5. ☮

PompiPompi

Feb 28, 2015
Visit site
Well I guess it would help if we knew of a new chip in the working like A9(or is it A10 now?), but iPhone 6S might get the same chip as iPhone 6+?
Maybe we could search the company that makes/design/manufacture chips for iPhone? They might be working on a new chip.
Not entirely sure who designs/manufacture the AX series chips.

Gameshot

Nov 19, 2015