iCloud Keychain vs 1Password

linsiris

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
I did a quick search and didn't find a threat specifically for this subject.

So Mavericks is here and with it iCloud keychain that offers pretty much the same features as 1Password. I'm fairly new at the latter and even though it is pricey to get them all, I haven't had a problem with it and find it really useful and secure. I'd like to know if any of you are making the switch and the reasons for it, do you think keychain matches 1password functionality? yes? no? don't care? :p Let me know.

This would make a good poll I think. I'm not sure how to do it here, any help would be much appreciated.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
When I updated my iPhone 5 and iPad Mini to iOS 7, and my MacBook to OS X Mavericks, I was prompted with a decision to allow the iCloud keychain to be enabled to remember my credit card and other personal stuff, I immediately denied it. I may change my mind months from now, but in the meantime, DataVault satisfies my needs in that regard. I can back up to iCloud, Dropbox and locally with it so there is no need for me to change to something else right now.

Yodes

Sep 22, 2013
Visit site
What I've found is that iCloud Keychain and my password manager (Dashlane) are working fine together. I enabled keychain and every time Dashlane logs me in to a site iCloud offers to save the password as well. This has been great because I can still use Dashlane but am now able to have auto login on my phones default browser.

robertk328

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
I enabled it but don't save passwords/logins to Chrome (or Safari). I use Lastpass for that stuff.

I believe iCloud keychain is what saves wifi passwords, right?

Chris Parsons

Oct 30, 2007
Visit site
I think I'll continue to use 1Password. iCloud Keychain is a nice addition for those who never used 1Password but for those who did, I think it came a little too late.

ame

Trusted Member