Mavericks boots into disk utilities

isaac3232

Aug 24, 2013
Visit site
OS X mavericks suddenly *boots into OS X utility screen,
i have LOTS of important data on my macintosh hd that was NOT backed up at all (not even time machine).
first of all i really need all this data,I'm a doctor and a lot of really important data is there.
what i did so far is trying fixing the HD via disk utility but not working, i also got a 1TB ex HD and clicked on "new image" on my macintosh hd and cloned it all (320 GB) to the ex HD in read/write option that after several hours was completed now i got a DMG file of my macintosh hd.
i tried opening it from my ex hd on another mac but it said that it can't be mounted.
can someone please help me restore this data somehow? maybe a some sort of way to open this huge DMG file in another comp?
if not maybe in some other way?
i really need your help,
thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Can you get your Mac in recovery mode by pressing the Command + R key during startup? Afterwards, select Disk Utility and then the MacIntosh HD, and then select to repair it. Hopefully, that'll work for you, but I cannot guarantee that it will and I cannot "guarantee" that you will not lose your data.

cmrobbins42

Oct 29, 2014
Visit site
OS X mavericks suddenly *boots into OS X utility screen,
i have LOTS of important data on my macintosh hd that was NOT backed up at all (not even time machine).
first of all i really need all this data,I'm a doctor and a lot of really important data is there.
what i did so far is trying fixing the HD via disk utility but not working, i also got a 1TB ex HD and clicked on "new image" on my macintosh hd and cloned it all (320 GB) to the ex HD in read/write option that after several hours was completed now i got a DMG file of my macintosh hd.
i tried opening it from my ex hd on another mac but it said that it can't be mounted.