• Sometimes

Votes: 1 5.3%
  • What are tags?

Votes: 2 10.5%

• Total voters

James Falconer

Nov 1, 2012
Visit site
One of the new features built-in to OS X Mavericks is the tagging system. While it looks handy, and very useful... I have to admit I haven't used it yet.

How about you? Do you use it at all? Go ahead and vote on the poll above and add your comments to this thread!

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I don't use the tagging option in OS X Mavericks, but I do use it in third-party apps like Evernote.

abazigal

May 9, 2013
Visit site
I am currently experimenting with it to see if it can improve my workflow.

As a teacher, I have tons of documents, scanned versions of textbooks and worksheets in my dropbox folder which I have classified by subject and level, and previously accessing them meant driving deep into a certain sub-folder to get a file. Then when I needed another file, keep clicking back (or reopen dropbox).

I have spent a bit of time tagging the files which I feel I will need to access on a regular basis. For example, all my math textbooks are tagged "math", "textbook" and "pX", X is the respective grade level. So if I want to quickly access all my math textbooks, I just click on the textbook tag. To see only my grade4 books, add the p4 tag. It's particularly useful when I need to quickly access multiple files within the same finder window, but would otherwise be better off in separate folders.

It also takes a bit of planning to come up with the appropriate tags. You need to really take a bird's eye view of all your content and decide how best you want to filter them. I have restarted twice already by removing and reassigning tags when I added more files and wanted them to share similar parameters.