IPad video quality on plane

Jakkalope

Nov 27, 2010
Visit site
Hello. I bought my ipad yesterday so I'm still learning. I am on a plane as I type this and have tried to use netflix but the time it takes to download or stream a show/movie is a lot longer than what i was expecting. Am i having lag issues because of gogoinflight or can i expect video quality on the iPad to always be poor?

Also a few apps will not finish downloading..they stand in cue and they never seem to finish. I downloaded an espn app at home last night and had no problems. Again i suspect the wifi on the plane is the issue but am not sure.

The main reason for this purchase was to watch movies and shows on a plane as it relieves some of my anxiety about flying. Anything i can do to better the speed and quality? I have not tried 3G yet but have read that it's worse and slower than wifi. Is this true?

Thanks

uhanrodric

Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
Download the SpeedTest.net app and run a speed test on both Wi-Fi and the 3G. That will at least tell you which is faster.

Sometimes when I use wi-fi that's provided by a business such as Borders, it's really crap for some reason. Best I can guess is because all the people using it. I tend to stay on 3G and just Wi-Fi @ home where I know it's a solid connection.

j12smith

Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Sounds interesting, but I'll wait for playback to improve before purchasing.

I've always wondered why vlc never released an app for the iPhone or iPad. It's open source, so why did it have to be released in the jb store? Does Apple not want a real video player on their iDevices?

iphone app

uhanrodric

Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
Sounds interesting, but I'll wait for playback to improve before purchasing.

I've always wondered why vlc never released an app for the iPhone or iPad. It's open source, so why did it have to be released in the jb store? Does Apple not want a real video player on their iDevices?

iphone app