iPad Classroom Ideas

killercatfish

Oct 28, 2010
Visit site
Hello!

I am a middle school teacher. I deal with organizational issues, attention issues and sloppiness issues on a daily basis. I recently purchased an iPad and have downloaded many, many, many apps. I am interested in deciding on a few apps that could be used as a classroom suite. the main types of apps I am looking for are: an organizer (think of it as a 3 ring binder), a file management app (the way to have teachers distribute materials and students to access them) and a whiteboard (import worksheets and fill them out).

I have narrowed it down to 2-3 apps per category and before I post what I have in mind, I would like to see what people think here and get some fresh ideas.

Thanks!

cardfan

Oct 26, 2004
Visit site
My wife is a middle school teacher but i don't think an ipad would work too well for her. Her school ties her down basically with their own programs they must use. They're not allowed to use anything but. Or install anything.

To be fair i can understand this as many of her co-workers can barely manage to turn a computer on. It's the federal school system btw and she teaches on post.

I don't think we're there yet but maybe later as these tablets become cheaper and more adopted.

lorin.bute

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
1. Organizer: Evernote, Springpad
2. File management/sharing: Dropbox. All of you can have free accounts (2 GB of storage online) and make a shared folder with them. Once you put something in that folder its immediately available for them (it even uses auto sync so they don't have to do anything, the file will be on their laptops/desktops/macs/ipads/iphones/android phones right away).
3. Whiteboard: Adobe Ideas

Enjoy!

Nicoleen

Oct 26, 2011
Visit site