What does the iPad mean for libraries?

drummersteve

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site
Hi,

This is my first post on the forum.

There has been much talk about what the iPad will mean to book publishers, as there seems to be a growing trend towards the future of books being digital with the iPad's iBook app and other devices such as Amazons latest e-book reader.

I'm currently studying at university, having just visited my University library for a book, what do you think such a device will mean to libraries? I'm not an avid library-goer, but it has to be one of the most important parts of the University system for all disciplines. Will the library soon cease to exist in light of this new media?

Or, do you think there could be some form of book 'rental' system similar to the iTunes movie rental? Could this work? Or would this idea undermine the whole idea behind e-books and the purchasing of them? If so, where does this leave libraries in the future?

What does everyone think?

lungho

Jun 20, 2009
Visit site
What ever the case, you can expect your tuition and/or student fees to rise. Even if Apple donated them, the school would have to come up with the money to support and maintain such a device.

If this thing was more durable, I could possibly see universities "renting" these things out. If any university does get this device, I'd expect to see them anchored to tables if anything. As of now, I think libraries will be in existence along with books for a very long time.

drummersteve

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site
I'm not so much referring to the Libraries, or the Universities getting the devices themselves. If the students were to own them (or anyone who is the member of a library), however, do you think the library may provide a means of downloading them to your iPad/any tablet device?