Domain name value

cjvitek

Jul 5, 2008
Visit site
Okay, I have a domain name (drmosquito.com) that I purchased a while back (when I got my PhD). I thought it would be sort of fun to have, I could post research and career related stuff.

I have not used it as much as I would have liked. In fact, aside from a placeholder, I haven't used it much at all.

I just got an email today asking if I wanted to sell it, and for how much.

How can you determine the value of a domain name? I don't use it for commerce, there is no page rank stuff since I don't really have anything on it.

Inquiring minds want to know!

IGoSlo

Jul 22, 2009
Visit site
Well, I've never sold one but my first inkling would be to ask the individual if it will be used commercially or private ! Then You set the price. Don't know what you paid for it, but Quote High. You can always compromise.

Is the potential buyer in the Exterminating Business? Are they in the Research area? Are they a private individual searcheng to make a buck?

Since you have no idea how much traffic it has produced, Guess... Well, if it were me, I'd look at my price...How long have I had it...What kind of return could I have gotten over the same amout of time invested somewhere else. I'd want at least 12 to 15 % return... but that's me, being a business owner.

zeagus

May 6, 2009
Visit site
I sold a domain name that I used primarily for the forums where my old online gaming buddies kept in touch. It's now a commercial site. I owned it for nearly ten years and was a bit nostalgic about it, but it was a great opportunity. They made a very fair initial offer, but I wasn't entirely sure about it and I ended up selling for 2.5x the original offer. It was a decent chunk of change. The suggestion to find out whether it will be commercial or not is a good one.

Last edited:

flyawaymike

Feb 6, 2010
Visit site
it really wouldn't matter about asking if it's going to be private or commercial..