New to MacBook Pro...need advice please

BD_BB_8520

May 10, 2016
Visit site
Hi All,

I bought a used Late 2011 MacBook Pro 13' with 4 Gb RAM, core i5. I put in a 512 Gb SSD after discussion with a friend.

I have never used Mac before, nor any Apple products. I have been using Windows PC for over 20 yrs.

I am watching alot of videos on youtube to get into the flow, but would like to ask the Forum some Qs and ask for some advice :

1. I bought the MBP (plus SSD) for 526 GB Pounds : good buy? or waste of money?....

2. Since I'm new to the whole Mac experience, it took me 2 days to figure out 'Apple ID'....lol. What free apps would you recommend?

3. My usage is moderate, basically email, browsing, some word & excel work. Should I upgrade the RAM?

4. Any other tips, advice you would have for a newbie who has just entered the world of MacBook Pro

Thanks to All in Advance for the replies.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Hi All,

I bought a used Late 2011 MacBook Pro 13' with 4 Gb RAM, core i5. I put in a 512 Gb SSD after discussion with a friend.

I have never used Mac before, nor any Apple products. I have been using Windows PC for over 20 yrs.

I am watching alot of videos on youtube to get into the flow, but would like to ask the Forum some Qs and ask for some advice :

1. I bought the MBP (plus SSD) for 526 GB Pounds : good buy? or waste of money?....
If it fits your needs then consider it a good buy.

2. Since I'm new to the whole Mac experience, it took me 2 days to figure out 'Apple ID'....lol. What free apps would you recommend?
Dropbox, Evernote, Skype, Adobe Reader, OneDrive, Pocket and ClamAV.

3. My usage is moderate, basically email, browsing, some word & excel work. Should I upgrade the RAM?
Not unless you think you need to.

4. Any other tips, advice you would have for a newbie who has just entered the world of MacBook Pro

Thanks to All in Advance for the replies.