Macbook Pro and gaming

choccyphilly

Nov 11, 2015
Visit site
Hi all, I've decided to get my first MBP for some office work, browsing etc however I'd also want to play games like elite dangerous, skyrim online, minecraft. Not sure if that's even something MBP would be able to handle - like I said I'm new to Apple environment.

What's the most demanding game on your MBP and what configuration would you recommend? I can't afford a top whack MBP... Looking to spend ?1400 max for either brand new or a refurb.

Thanks
Luke

Algus

Apr 22, 2013
Visit site
MacBook Pro only has integrated graphics or cards that aren't really optimized for gaming. Expect low frame rates (20-35 FPS) and low visual settings. That said, MBPs pack enough hardware for the kinds of games I play and I (usually) don't care about visual settings.

The most visually demanding game I have played is probably The Old Republic, which I can get on around medium at 1080p with 30 FPS average. This is on my old Ivy Bridge Mac mini so 2015 MacBook Pro will probably have better results.

They're just not gaming machines, but gaming is certainly something you can do if you aren't really picky. I play mostly older and indie stuff (can't remember the last AAA game I bought new...Skyrim maybe?) so Macs meet my gaming needs just fine.

eastbayrae

Jan 31, 2013
Visit site
You won't be playing Skyrim on any current MacBook. Even if you can get it to run it will be virtually unplayable. Buy a Razor Blade, similar quality as a MacBook.

Closingracer

Sep 24, 2014
Visit site
You won't be playing Skyrim on any current MacBook. Even if you can get it to run it will be virtually unplayable. Buy a Razor Blade, similar quality as a MacBook.

Na you can run skyrim on the latest broadwell Intel iris graphics....low settings and it's playable around 40 fps. That's at least from what I've read around about this subject on various forums and etc

mikeo007

Aug 11, 2012
Visit site