New to Mac - a question about the Word processing app, any help?

I

iMore Question

New to Mac - a question about Word processing app.

I am new to mac and bought a MacBook Air 11" a few days back. I have been using Office on office.com but it seems that i?ll need to purchase a local installation soon. My question is: Would Office 2016 make my MacBook slow? I?ll probably be working with unto three windows of Word/Excel/PP and a couple of windows of Safari/Chrome.
I have 128 GB HD and 4 GB RAM.

I have tried WPS but i?ll also be working with Arabic font that WPS does not support.
I can use Pages but it does not support Norwegian spell-check.

Any suggestion?

anon(9940776)

Jun 17, 2016
Visit site
Re: New to Mac - a question about Word processing app.

No, a local installation of Office 365 will not make your MacBook slow. Or slower. Or eat your dog, or force you to sign a contract with satan.

As a matter of fact, if you buy the annual subscription you'll get 1TB of OneDrive space included in the package, so you can dump iCloud if you're paying for it.

I use my subscription on iMac (late 2013) with 16gb RAM, iPad Pro, iPhone SE, Priv, and SurfaceBook.

iAftab

Jun 20, 2016
Visit site

well, my question was about Office 2016 and not 365
I have 128 GB and 4 GB RAM. Since i have 4 GB RAM, i am a bit worried that the Office will slow down the performance while i am using it.

Rob Phillips

iPhone X & Apple TV Champion, Moderator
Champion
May 1, 2012
Visit site

well, my question was about Office 2016 and not 365
I have 128 GB and 4 GB RAM. Since i have 4 GB RAM, i am a bit worried that the Office will slow down the performance while i am using it.

The only difference between Office365 and Office 2016 is one is a subscription while the latter is a straight out purchase. Both will run just fine on your MacBook, even with multiple windows running.

Bazza1

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site