Fix or Replace: Late 2010 MBA , Need Advice

Nanci

Jun 24, 2010
Visit site
I have a late 2010 MBA. Aside from the two issues below, it runs great and I love it, and had no desire to replace it at this time. I can scrounge the money for a replacement, but it won't be pretty and it will take virtually all of my emergency iPhone replacement fund (4s, mostly working fine, freezes occasionally, I'm still happy with it for the most part, but you never know when it might die or need to be replaced because of an accident).

First, the screen is cracked from a Bose speaker falling on it. This is the only electronics/computer/phone/anything that I have ever damaged, and I am just sick about it. The cracks themselves aren't obstructive, but there is blue "coloration" "dripping" down from the cracks, and it is very concentrated up in the upper left corner, where the controls for _everything_ are. I had hoped to have the screen replaced soon, and had an estimate of $600-800. I had decided that replacing the screen (entire upper lid) was more cost effective than buying a whole new MBA, when the laptop itself was still running fine, not out of space, etc.

But then the trackpad stopped left clicking. A reboot brought it back once. The next morning it was not left clicking again, and an SMC reset fixed it. The next morning, same thing, and it took multiple SMC resets to get it to work. At this point I changed my settings so it would never go to sleep, and the track pad has continued to work. This can't be a permanent solution, though.

How do I know if this is a software issue, that will be fixed with the next update, or an actual physical trackpad issue? If I also have to replace the trackpad, I don't know how much that costs- a guess is in the $100-200 range. That, combined with the cost of a new screen seems to make it more cost-efficient to simply buy a new MBA.