Did I wreck my husbands phone plz help - newbie here

missynz

Aug 27, 2013
Visit site
I bought my husband a secondhand iphone 5 running ios6.0? I changed apple id in settings to mine but when he tries to use some apps it still asks for password for previous owners appleid. So I deleted one of the apps to reinstall it hoping that will work. But in between that I viewed my apple id and activated genius. My husbands phone is jail broken. Now whenever I try to open the App Store it opens to featured and everything is disabled I can't push anything. Is that cos by activation genius it knows the phone is jail broke so its not working? And how do I fix so App Store works and I can reinstall the app I deleted? And how do I get it to not ask for previous owners apple id but ask for mine?

Jaguarr40

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
First of all Welcome to iMore. Have you just gone ahead and even though you may not want to, Plug it into iTunes and set it back to new. You will not be able to Jail break it again because it will load the latest OS which is a cool thing. Once all is done and everything has been cleaned to new you are then free to do as you please.
By setting up as new it might wipe the old Apple ID or the IMEI might not have been released ans that will have to be done by the carrier which will have to be done. I would go a step at a time to see if anything I mentioned works and go from there. Best of luck and let us know if anything worked. yes or no?
I am sure you will get more hits on this thread so others more familiar will come along and help you as well so don't worry to much about it. We will all help you get it sorted out.:)

Peligro911

Jun 1, 2011
Visit site