Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iPhone Nanite

Global Posts
    9 Global Posts

Default First time Jailbreaking problem

Hi all first, I am sick of apples restrictions and their greedy way of doing things. My friend gave me his old ipod touch 2g, 8gb. I tried installing apps... But you cant because it is stuck on 4.2.1 Ios. So I am going to jailbreak the dang thing!!!

Anyways the problem. I downloaded quickpwn on my macbook pro because it was what I saw suggested. However, once downloaded, installed and ready to go. It asks me to plug in my ipod, I do so... Than nothing happens. Nothing at all. Well lets just say, since this is my first time, I am so confused. Plus I dont understand macs all that well either... My school forced me to get it instead of a windows laptop. Any and all help would be more than appreciated!
    iMore Expert

Global Posts
    877 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Default Re: First time Jailbreaking problem

I don't remember if it applies, but try going to jailbreakme.com on the iPod and see if you can't jailbreak from there.

If that doesn't do it, follow this tutorial.
    If you have jailbreak woes, you can iMessage me at iDonev@me.com. I'll try to help (provided I have time to spare).
    Thanked by:
    jacobkeller98 (01-18-2013)

Global Posts
    2,517 Global Posts
    iOS Version

http://m.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=12969

Though I do suggest you edit your post about the apps bit, as you don't have to jailbreak to install apps from the App Store. Some people could imply something you may or may not mean.

iPhone 5 ✲ iPad 3 WiFi ✲ Macbook Pro running Lion 10.8.2 ✲ Xbox 360 ✲ Nintendo 3DS ✲ PS3

Beamed from a galaxy far, far away using Tapatalk!
    iMore Forum Moderator
    iPhone 5s ✲ Macbook Pro running Mavericks 10.9 ✲ Apple TV 2nd Gen ✲ Xbox 360 ✲ Nintendo 3DS ✲ PS3