Iphone 4s, factory restore help/questions

JohnKreese

Oct 11, 2011
Visit site
I have a jailbroken Sprint 4s that was working just fine until this afternoon when my wife decided to upgrade her phone on our joint account. The Sprint rep screwed up initially and put her phone on my number before fixing it. The damage however was already done, and now my phone can no longer activate the cellular data network despite several attempts with Sprint CS. I can make phone calls, get texts/voicemals, and I can use internet functions as long as I am on a wifi network, but cannot do anything data wise over 3g. The Sprint rep says that the next thing to do at this point is to factory restore the phone through iTunes.

This is my first time with an iPhone and jail breaking, so I want to make sure that I understand this as it looks like it's more complicated/painful than doing the same thing on my old Pre. My understanding from reading the guides and forums is that once I hook the phone up to iTunes and restore it, my jailbreak is toast and I'll automatically be on iOS 5.1 until a new jailbreak comes out. What I'm wondering is does anybody know of any other tricks that could get my phone back up on the cell data network other than restoring it through iTunes, and if not what steps do I need to take to preserve all of my Cydia stuff so I don't have to pay for the apps again in the future when a new jailbreak comes out? Is just getting my Cydia account information enough or do I need to download an app to help preserve the data? I think I'm pretty much sol here, but being new and fairly clueless I want to make sure before I take the plunge as my jailbreak has really been the thing to make me at peace with the phone post web-OS. Thanks for any help!

JohnKreese

Oct 11, 2011
Visit site
Have you tried just restoring network settings?