Please help..

cheleb

Mar 12, 2012
Visit site
Hello-
I am somewhat new at updating my iphone to the newest IOS. I had an older iphone and could always find a video or something that walked me through it step by step, but just so unsure now that I have my 3gs. So what I have is a 3gs unlocked/jailbroken on 4.3.2 it did hare the 06.15.00 baseband when I got it. I?ve had NO issues with the phone, but so would love to get it updated. I?ve just been scared and unsure with so many different things stated out there about bootroms etc? I have backed up my iphone in itunes and also used Tinyumberella to save my current blobs. Just want to assure I am following what is right for me to get the right update.

Can anyone be of help to me in a sure bet way to get my phone updated to the 5.0 IOS, for my particular situation? Thank you SO MUCH in advance for any help you can give me.
Thank you!

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site
You should be able to use these instructions: Preserve iPhone 4, 3GS Baseband on iOS 5 Sn0wBreeze [Windows] | iJailbreak.com

The big thing for you is that you can ONLY restore using a CUSTOM firmware because of the ipad baseband. iTunes will not allow you to update or restore to a normal firmware. The above guide uses 5.0 as an example, but if I were you I'd simply use the 5.1 ipsw (the steps will be the same) which will mean you don't have to worry about SHSH blobs, because Apple is currently signing 5.1.

Good luck!

Reactions: cheleb

cheleb

Mar 12, 2012
Visit site
Hi Massie-
first of all THANK YOU for your input and direction.. I thought that the 5.1 is a tethered? If it is not, do you know where I can find the custom file for that? In the link you provided it gives the links for the 5.0.1. Again thank you..

And Gixxer07, thank you for guiding a newbie, I do appreicate it. ;)

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site