I'm new to jailbreaking. I have a few questions?

anon(4750888)

Dec 20, 2011
Visit site
I really want to jailbreak my iPhone 4. It's currently running iOS 5.0.1.

I know that there is a 5.0.1 tethered jailbreak available, via redsn0w 0.9.9b9. I was wondering if I should go ahead and do this. But on the other hand, I know Pod2g is working on an untethered solution.

What would you recommend, doing it now, or waiting? Is it possible for me to go ahead and jailbreak now, and then "switch" to the untethered version without losing data/restoring?

I don't want to jailbreak now and then have to jailbreak again later, losing all my stuff.

Thanks a lot,

Zahid

iDonev

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
If I were you, I would wait. The untethered jailbreak might be out by the end of the year.

As for an untethered patch to the current jailbreak: in theory it's possible. The question is will somebody actually create it.

BLiNK

Oct 7, 2009
Visit site
might as well wait and make your first time jailbreaking one less thing to hassle with (tethered jb)

there'll be plenty of other things to concentrate on and being UNtethered makes the user experience much more pleasurable

plus assuming the new JB will be userland you can do it OTA. WIN!

derk

Jun 10, 2009
Visit site
I really want to jailbreak my iPhone 4. It's currently running iOS 5.0.1.

I know that there is a 5.0.1 tethered jailbreak available, via redsn0w 0.9.9b9. I was wondering if I should go ahead and do this. But on the other hand, I know Pod2g is working on an untethered solution.

What would you recommend, doing it now, or waiting? Is it possible for me to go ahead and jailbreak now, and then "switch" to the untethered version without losing data/restoring?

I don't want to jailbreak now and then have to jailbreak again later, losing all my stuff.

Thanks a lot,

Zahid