Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    Tandraicel's Avatar
    iPhone Nanite

    1 Posts

    Default Downgrading 4.3.5 to 4.3.3 - keep settings?

    Hi! New here, been a long time reader via RSS feeds and making my first post as I am trying to step into the Jail breaking Community.

    I currently am running 4.3.5 on my iPhone 4 and I wish to jailbreak untethered.

    However, I have all my text message history, call history, other misc settings as well as my apps, game progresses and folders that I have made that I do NOT want to loose nor do I want to resetup/reinstall manually. I know now if you do a update via itunes it puts everything back, you just updated your software and your device stays as is. Is this the same for downgrading?

    I found some links in how to downgrade from 4.3.5 to 4.3.3, but I guess the question is if I downgrade from 4.3.5 to 4.3.3 will I loose all this and essentially have to start from scratch? Will iTunes when doing the restore put all my apps, settings, etc back and visually I wouldn't notice a difference except the software would be 4.3.3 instead of 4.3.5 then I can jailbreak the iPhone?

    Here is a thread I found on downgrading:
    I can't post links but if you google "how to downgrade iOS 4.3.5 to iOS 4.3.3 greenpoison" it will be the third link in the results.

    If anyone has any alternative sites/suggestions please do share.

    Thanks, I appreciate any help that can be given.
  2. #2  
    dbone15#AC's Avatar
    iPhone Newbie

    42 Posts
    Global Posts
    45 Global Posts


    After a jailbreak I always do a fresh install of everything. Don't think keeping game progress is possible. Why would you jailbreak with GreenPoison? Use jailbreakme.com
  3. #3  
    iDonev's Avatar
    iMore Expert

    877 Posts
    Global Posts
    881 Global Posts


    I have never tried it, but it might be possible to use your 4.3.5 backup on 4.3.3. Worst case scenario, you'll have to reinstall and rejailbreak and start from scratch.

Posting Permissions