Calling All Cross-Platform Guru's!! | Android Rooting/Hacking to iPhone Jailbreaking

Status
Not open for further replies.

biggjoe

Oct 31, 2011
Visit site
Hello Everyone,

I'm still pretty new to TiPb and I wasn't sure if I am posting this in the correct category...so please bare with me.

I've done the equivalent of iOS Jailbreaking on the following Mobile OS Platforms:

1. - Android (Rooting/Hacking/Custom Recovery, Kernals, Nandroids, Custom ROMs, etc.)

2. - Palm/HP WebOS (Developer Mode/WOSQI/PreWare/Custom Kernals/Patching/Themes, etc.)

3. - Blackberry (BBSAK/Vendor-Independent Custom OS/CODs/Themes, etc.)

...now, I need to ramp-up and get up-to-speed with iPhone Jailbreaking.

I just purchased a Sprint iPhone 4 running iOS 5 (Not the iPhone 4s).

After a lot of reading and researching, I was able to Jailbreak the Sprint iPhone 4 running iOS v.5.0 with the following tool: redsn0w_0.9.9b7 which is only a 'Teathered-Jailbreak' (The newest term I have learned in the past few days...hehe).

Actually, for some reason, RedSn0w was having problems fetching the correct info from the Apple Servers. So as the fix, I had to download the IPSW file for my Sprint iPhone 4 (iOS 5), then from within 'RedSn0w' under 'Extras'...I had to manually 'select' the IPSW that I downloaded on my computer...but whatever, it worked.

From there it worked flawlessly.

My Request:

For those of you who know all about 'Rooting Androids'...can you help me transition to the iPhone scene and let me know what kind of hacks/mods can and cannot be done on the iPhone, compared to Android. I'm referring to items such as:

1. - Installing a Custom Recovery App or it's equivalent

2. - Creating a Nandroid Dump or 'Image Snapshot' or it's equivalent

3. - Running Custom ROMs & Kernels, etc.

4. - Overclocking

5. - OS Backup / App Backup / App-Data Backup (iCloud seems really cool, even though the Palm/HP WebOS had been doing it long before with the 'Palm Profile' feature via the Cloud).