Help! iPhone tied in knots

Macinjosh

Apr 28, 2011
Visit site
Forum and jailbreaking newbie here, hope someone will take pity or at least view my dumb-ass predicament as a challenge :eek:

First the tech details:

? iPhone 3G - first purchased in USA (AT&T I think but not sure) now in UK
? Baseband 6.15.00
? Firmware 4.1 I *think* (not sure tho, done numerous diff restore attempts and F0recast is no longer seeing device. Last restore attempt used iPhone1,2_4.1_8B117_Restore)
? Mac OSX Snow Leopard (10.6.7)
? iTunes 10.2.2

So I was given this phone by a friend on a visit to the States, it was their old one. I took it home and the local (Orange) SIM card didn't work, so I took it to a phone shop for unlocking. Didn't realise at the time that unlocking an iPhone basically means jailbreaking. I also didn't take a note of what firmware or software version it was handed back with.

Plugged it into iTunes to update to latest software 4.3 (like I say, didn't know better at that time) and ended up with an error message. Hit 'restore' and was then hit with a 1015 error message.

Cursing myself, I did a bit of research (but clearly not enough, haha!) and downloaded redsn0w 9.6rc12. Ran through OK (unfortunately I can't remember now which firmware it was pointed at, either 4.1 or 4.2.1) but on rebooting I got the 'connect to iTunes message'. Phone still in recovery mode.

Things get a bit vague at this point. I believe the order of events was roughly...
- Attempted RecBoot, no joy.
- Attempted TinyUmbrella but couldn't see device (or at least there was a Q mark in top left). Hit 'exit recovery' but no joy.
- Checked F0recast and was given the info at top of this post plus (if I remember right) Jailbreakable YES Unlockable NO Untethered YES
- Tried re-running redsn0w (firmware 4.1) but this time it stalled on rebooting.
- Tried unplugging/replugging USB as suggested but no joy.
- Exited DFU mode and restarted, got the same 'Connect to iTunes' message.