Proper method for updating jailbreak? (i.e. 4.2.1 to 4.3.2)

Prodigal

Jun 30, 2010
Visit site
I'm relatively new to team jailbreak, I have an iPhone 4 that I jailbroke a few months back and have been very happy with the extra features and options I'm able to play with now. I've been running 4.2.1 and holding off any of the upgrades until there was an untethered option for 4.3.2.

I looked at a number of threads here and a few guides around the web but wasn't able to find one specifically for upgrading an already jailbroken device, but from all my digging I thought I had a firm enough grasp and decided today would be the day.

I did a backup in iTunes, as well as backing up my SHSH via TinyUmbrella, and then gave itunes the go ahead to upgrade my phone to 4.3.2. I'm guessing that was my mistake, as it failed before completing and put the phone into recovery mode, giving a "the iphone could not be restored" error message.

Several more restore attempts, more searching on the boards, and half an hour later I determined that I needed to edit my hosts file to allow the upgrade to complete successfully. I did so, but had to leave for work before I could actually jailbreak the device again.

My questions are first, what is the best way to upgrade an iOS device that is already jailbroken to a new firmware version (provided there is a jailbreak out for said new version)?

Secondly, I'm aware that a lot of people recommend doing a set up as new for new firmware revisions, but I really don't like losing all my settings/texts/app data/etc. so before I got into jailbreaking I always did a restore. My mentality is that if I have issues I can always blow the thing away and start over if I have to. My understanding is that I'm able to have iTunes restore everything back to my phone after I've upgraded the firmware and jailbroken it again. What is the best way to go about this?