Jailbreak question

csal80

Mar 21, 2011
Visit site
Hi, I am new to the jailbreak community and have some questions that might be pretty simple to most of you before I JB my phone. I did try to research so apologize if there are already threads on these:

- When there is a new firmware update, are all your system hacks and tweaks backed up? Basically I do not want to have to redo all the customization upon each new system update. Can you please describe how jailbreak addresses the updates and what you have to do as a user to ensure everything stays the same?

- They warn you about jailbreaking in the apple store. Realistically, does it really cause your phone that many problems? Has anyone ever ran into a situation where you needed a new iphone or needed something repaired and they literally told you that they could not work on it because it had been jailbroken?

- Can anyone direct me to a thread with step by step instructions on how to jailbreak?

- Does anyone have an idea on the percentage of people that JB their phone?

Thanks so much!

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
When there is a new firmware update dedicated JBers seldom update until there is a JB for it. There are some progs in Cydia that do backup the tweaks and now there is a system where you login with either your Facebook or Google and it keeps track of your purchased apps. There is no backup through iTunes so it is your responsibility to back them up. Do a search for AppBackup, I've never used any of the backup apps oJB but then I don't use a ton of apps and tweaks.