upgraded my new ipad to ios 4.3, what are my options?

macindows

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
Hi Everyone. I recently bought an Ipad 1 64gb. Being an Apple Noob, I immediately upgraded it to IOS 4.3 upon syncing with itunes :(:(:(. Is there any way I can "untethered" jailbreak my device OR downgrade it back to an older IOS version which has more stable jailbreak options?

Thanks much!

Garz

Retired Moderator
Mar 9, 2009
Visit site
No untethered JB for 4.3. Unless you were JB on 4.2.1 and have your SHSH blobs saved which is needed to downgrade firmware, I think you are stuck where you are at.

macindows

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
What a shame - it's the answer I most dread. Based on your experience, how soon do you think will the untethered jailbreak be available for the IOS 4.3?

BTW, thanks for the swift response!

Garz

Retired Moderator
Mar 9, 2009
Visit site
What a shame - it's the answer I most dread. Based on your experience, how soon do you think will the untethered jailbreak be available for the IOS 4.3?

BTW, thanks for the swift response!

Its really hard to say. It took awhile for the devs to get 4.2.1 Jailbroke and a new 4.3.1 OS is likely on the way which would probably delay things even more

phinx404

Jan 17, 2011
Visit site
there should be os 4.3.1 out by late next week and then its a matter of time after that. also with 4.3.1 has a much better battery life as well from what i read this morning in a review.

Garz

Retired Moderator
Mar 9, 2009
Visit site
Double whammy but thanks again Garz! Would you recommend that I try the tethered jailbreak using snowbreeze?

Me personally I wouldnt use tethered. Ive only JB using untethered. Thats really your call though

Last edited:

BLiNK

Oct 7, 2009
Visit site
macindows, look at jailbreaking as having access to another app store, but better

there are some "free" apps/tweaks but most of your better ones will cost money (this is the honest way of doing it)

just curious, do you like working for free?

Fausty82