3GS 4.2.1 Jailbreak now or wait?

Player1

Dec 23, 2010
Visit site
Hi
I'm new to jailbreak and I own an IPhone 3GS (6 months old).
is it worth Jailbreaking with the tethered version or waiting for a non beta untethered version?

Any advise would be most welcome

Thx

jdavis530

May 18, 2010
Visit site
It seems as if the untethered version should be released very soon, but you never know. I guess it all depends on how bad do you want to jailbreak at this moment? Do you want it bad? (thats what she said......lol) Or do you not mind waiting. The tethered jailbreak isnt really that much of a pain.

Reactions: Player1

Player1

Dec 23, 2010
Visit site
Lol, I have no problem waiting however I do hope very soon equates to sometime in January.
As a newbie in jailbreaking I hope the untethered version is achieved via single process and not having to first JB tethered and then second process to complete untetherd install.

jdavis530

May 18, 2010
Visit site
Well they are in the beta stages of testing, so thats better than nothing. I heard that this untethered JB is suppose to convert you from tethered to untethered. Not sure if it will require you to be tethered first, but for those of us that are already tethered, that would be great.

Player1

Dec 23, 2010
Visit site
What happens if it doesn't convert tethered to untetherd, will you have to restore back to normal before JB again?

And if you are correct regarding the new version I might as well JB now using the tetherd version.

jdavis530

May 18, 2010
Visit site
If it doesn't convert, i will back my phone up to itunes, transfer all my apps to itunes, make a list of my cydia apps (i know there are apps to do this, but I choose to do it this way), restore to factory 4.2.1, rejailbreak with the untethered reload all my apps, reinstall all cydias apps then restore from a back up.

maxburn

Dec 23, 2010
Visit site