Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iPhone Nanite

6 Posts
    Global Posts
    10 Global Posts

Default Unlocked iP4 - 32GB - Should I Jailbreak?

This week I picked up an UNLOCKED iPhone 4 - 32GB (Version 4.1 (8B117) from an Apple store here in Canada. I paid full retail for the phone and was not forced into signing a long-term contract with my carrier (Telus). I did this because my wife and I do a fair bit of travelling and I wanted to be able to swap out SIM Cards wherever we travel (U.S. & Overseas).

So, do I 'need' to jailbreak my phone? In a previous life, I was a Programmer/Analyst and have always tweaked my computers to perform better/faster. So far, I like the phone and don't see a need to jailbreak it, but that may change in the future.

More importantly, if I do jailbreak it, will it still be unlocked? If I have to restore it in the future, will it become locked or remain unlocked?

iMore Intermediate

199 Posts

If you want to:

- change event sounds
    - access fs to manipulate various aspects
    - have notifications Bb style in the statusbar
    - have gesture based hotkeys
    - have sbsettings to have access to key settings with a tap or a gesture

Then you need to jb

There is a lot more but those are things I find essential.
    Last edited by porksoda; 11-21-2010 at 01:02 AM.
    iPhone Intermediate

366 Posts

If it's a factory unlock iPhone, it will forever be unlock. Updating the firmware or JBing won't change that.
    iPhone Intermediate

244 Posts
    Global Posts
    265 Global Posts

I have a 16 gig iPhone 4 that I purchased from apple too. It will always be unlocked if you have purchased it from them here in Canada.
    iPhone Newbie

13 Posts
    Global Posts
    68 Global Posts