Noob needs some help for upgrading unlocked 3GS 3.1.3 to iOS 4.0

Narcisse#IM

Oct 16, 2010
Visit site
Hi to all !

I am not technically inclined and I think I need your help !

I have an unlocked 3GS version 3.1.3 and I would like to install some apps from itunes store which require 4.0 or later. I also have an app called cydia. I guess that means it's jailbroken ? How would I go about to do that ? I have tried looking at the guides but don't understand much :(

Thanks in advance any help is most welcome !!

farbod21

TiPb Jailbreak Genius
Jun 21, 2010
twitter.com
Hi to all !

I am not technically inclined and I think I need your help !

I have an unlocked 3GS version 3.1.3 and I would like to install some apps from itunes store which require 4.0 or later. I also have an app called cydia. I guess that means it's jailbroken ? How would I go about to do that ? I have tried looking at the guides but don't understand much :(

Thanks in advance any help is most welcome !!

The problem with what you want to do, is that you will lose unlock. Since you are at 3.x and dont have your SHSH blobs save for any 4.x firmware (youve never been on them before) you will not be able to go to 4.0 or 4.0.1. You will have to go to the newest firmware which is 4.1 which also upgrades your modem firmware making it so you cant unlock your phone.

My advice is to wait just a tad bit longer. They are coming out with a custom firmware (pwnagetool) that will allow you to install 4.1 with an older modem firmware that can be unlocked.

This way you can keep your current unlock status. From what I understand, this custom firmware should be out within the next couple days...

Once its released, I will post some directions up to help you out...

Narcisse#IM

Oct 16, 2010
Visit site
Thank you for this fast reply !

I guess my only option is to wait a couple days.