already jb, want to upgrade from 3.0 to anything higher

lausha

Jul 10, 2010
Visit site
Hi

I've looked through the threads and can't find the answer - apologies if I've missed something obvious. And apologies if I'm giving too much info here but I don't know which bits are relevant...

Bought a JB iphone os3.0 a year ago. Would like finally to upgrade to anything 3.1 or higher as there are so many apps I can't use now. I have never used itunes on my pc with it before now.

My itunes offers to update it to os4.0 but I've been told there isn't a jailbreak for 3gs yet.

In Cydia there is a message: "this device has SHSHs on file for iphone OS 3.1, 3.1.2, 3.1.3.

I run windows xp on my pc.

Can anybody tell me what to do please?

Thanks

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site
Since you're jailbroken on 3.0 you don't have a tethered jailbreak. The best bet is to do what I did. Download sn0wbreeze and use that to create a custom firmware that won't update your baseband (I'm assuming you are not on AT&T and need to be unlocked to use the device ).

Sn0wbreeze was a snap on my 3GS running 3.1.2. It created the custom firmware and then I installed it with iTunes and it jailbroke my device on 4.0. Then I installed ultrasn0w and unlocked it.

You can get sn0wbreeze at ih8sn0w.com ( I think that's right )

lausha

Jul 10, 2010
Visit site
That's great, thank you so much.

I found a tutorial on this site but it said that the phone needed to be 3.1.2 to work and mine is only 3.0. I would be quite happy to upgrade to 3.1.2, don't need os4, but I'll be happy with whatever I can get. However, not having 3.1.2 to start with means presumably I can't use that tutorial?

Ultrasn0w - I appear to already have it on my iphone, version 0.93, but will I be able to access it after I've run the sn0wbreeze program or do I need to re-download it from somewhere? And if I download it, how do I get it onto itunes or my iphone?