Quick Questions Regarding 3.1.2 3GS Jailbreak

Meinbeast

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
I have a 3GS 3.1.2 jailbreak and wanted to upgrade to 4.0. I no longer want to keep my jailbreak. If I simply update to 4.0 on itunes will that fix everything or do I need to do something to remove blackrain/cydia and all that stuff from my iphone.

Sorry im new to this just want to make sure if I simply update from itunes that it wont mess up my phone..

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
You have to give it a bit of time to get answers. You can simply do an update, Jailbreak is just a hacked firmware so by reloading the firmware you are removing the Jailbreak. It's like loading Vista fresh over a cracked Windows XP installation. You should do a sync and backup before you do the restore, then hit restore to restore your phone to factory settings it should automatically upgrade the phone to the latest firmware. You should make sure you also have the newest iTunes version 9.2 After the restore and upgrade you'll be asked whether to set the phone up as new or restore from a backup. The opinions are split on this, some say setting it up as a new phone removes possible problems. I have always restored from a backup on my phone and have never had above average problems so choose the one you prefer.

theringer

Jul 1, 2010
Visit site
You should do a sync and backup before you do the restore, then hit restore to restore your phone to factory settings it should automatically upgrade the phone to the latest firmware. You should make sure you also have the newest iTunes version 9.2 After the restore and upgrade you'll be asked whether to set the phone up as new or restore from a backup. The opinions are split on this, some say setting it up as a new phone removes possible problems. I have always restored from a backup on my phone and have never had above average problems so choose the one you prefer.

He does NOT want to restore from a backup if he wishes to remove all traces of the jailbreak.