JB becoming obselete?

clg82

Jun 19, 2009
Visit site
Well over this past weekend I finally JB my iphone 3g. I got a bunch of apps one in particular "Categories". My question is that when OS 4.0 is released what will happen to my app categories? Since the new OS is going to allow us to group icons together, should I just remove categories? Has this ever happened before? Thanks for any help~Chris

en0c

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
Well.. If/when you update to OS 4.0, you also erase your jailbreak. So your question isn't really a question...

clg82

Jun 19, 2009
Visit site
Well.. If/when you update to OS 4.0, you also erase your jailbreak. So your question isn't really a question...

Sorry I didn't know that, so updating my iphone to 4.0 automatically unjailbreaks me? Do I lose any other information such as songs/albums/contacts etc? Sorry i'm new to the JB thing....And then after I update to 4.0 I just have to wait for a new FW to be released correct?

rdiddy_25

Sep 20, 2009
Visit site
When u upgrade to 4.0 it erases EVERYTHING from ur iPhone and puts it back to like brand new (firmware speaking). U ALWAYS do a backup before upgrading to avoid losing contacts, etc...

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
When the update comes out, don't race to install it. Wait and see if it's jailbreakable so that if you like your j/b you won't lose it and spend 70 or 80 threads going "I accidentally updated and lost my jailbreak." ;)

Reactions: clg82

clg82

Jun 19, 2009
Visit site
When the update comes out, don't race to install it. Wait and see if it's jailbreakable so that if you like your j/b you won't lose it and spend 70 or 80 threads going "I accidentally updated and lost my jailbreak." ;)

LOL i won't....how would I j/b again when the new firmware comes out....does it just update itself?

gieaz2

May 23, 2010
www.cellingpost.com