Question about Jailbreaking my Iphone

intense666

Mar 20, 2010
Visit site
Today I purchased my first apple product (up until now I've been using MP3s).
I'm completely new to how these things work so please bare with my ignorance. I have purchased a 16gb 3G Iphone today. There was a topic saying that 3.13 or some number like that cannot be jailbroken. I'm not sure if that is my version nor do I know how to check the specific version of my Iphone. What is the best and quickest way to jailbreaking my Iphone 3G without using itunes. I have Windows by the way. Thanks in advance!

LVCIFER

Jun 18, 2009
Visit site
Ok, first things first, here is jailbreaking 101.

Jailbreaking allows code not sanctioned by Apple to be placed on your phone. What does that mean? Third party applictions can make your iPhone do some wicked sh*t.

Unlocking is when you want to use your phone on a GSM carrier other than the official one your phone came with. An example of this would be as follows: In the US, the iPhone is locked to AT&T. Unlocking allows people to use the iPhone on T-Mobile, usually for much cheaper than they would pay on AT&T.

Now, each OS ("operating system") is also known as a 'firmware'. This is way your iPhone uses to operate. Every OS is unique, and requires a DIFFERENT tool to jailbreak it. Each OS updates the baseband. The baseband is what locks you to the offiial carrier. Each baseband requires a different tool to unlock it. So in essence, every OS that is updated or released requires (2) tools - the jailbreaker, and the unlocker.

3.1.3 is the OS that is current. It cannot be unlocked, but CAN be jailbroken on the original iPhone 2G, iPhone 3G, and older versions of the 3G.