iphone 3gS help!

ferraristef

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
OK so i have a iPhone 3g S 32gb on OS 3.1.3 with baseband 5.12, i know i cannot jailbreak now but when it is possible to do, before i jailbreak it i have some questions. i am a noob so bare with me

with jail-breaking the iPhone, will i be able to unlock it so when i go to the states i can get a pre-paid SIM card and put it in and will everything work?

once i get back can i un-jailbreak/re-lock it?

does jail-breaking ruin anything? such as push email, youtube, wi-fi, internet, sms etc?

if something does go wrong such as the wi-fi no longer works could i un-jailbreak it to make it work again?

i have never jailbroke before so is there anything that i should know about that would break my iPhone?

i just want to jailbreak my iPhone to unlock it so im not going to use winterboard or anything like that.

i saw a youtube video of someone jail-breaking 3.1.3 and unlocking with i think its called snowbreez? anyway the person chose expert mode and then he picked general, right next to general there is a link called "UNLOCKS" can i just unlock it without doing a jailbreak?

sorry for the questions if there dumb

Stef

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site
I'll help you a bit more than en0c decided to ( or decided not to ).

- you cannot unlock without jailbreaking. Your carrier MAY unlock your phone for you. Contact them about unlocking. If they unlock it, it is an unlock that will carrier over regardless of jailbreaks, restores, etc.

- Assuming a jailbreak comes out of 3.1.3 ( which I doubt, I expect one for 3.2 or 4.0 instead ), if you jailbreak and unlock it is as simple as restoring as a new phone to erase all traces of the jailbreak and unlock and make it "like normal".

- If you know what you are doing, a jailbreak cannot "hurt" anything. If you don't know what you're doing you can leave yourself open for hacking.