Data Cap on Tethering? (safety question)

Feb 8, 2010
Visit site
Alright, so I just finished jailbreaking my phone. Everything works great! TiPB forums have been a huge help. Ya'll rock.

I've a last question though, and it has to do with tethering.

I've heard some horror stories about people who've tethered and then been slapped with a huge bill by AT&T.

I've tethering right now, just surfing webpages. I'm a little nervous about looking at video. . .

How much data is safe to use? I really would like to know.

Feb 8, 2010
Visit site
5GB a day, lol. No it's 5GB a month and then they may watch you. That's still alot.

*sighs* Shame, I'd have liked the 5GB a day rule. Without tether, I use about 3-4GB a month. . . lots of HQ YouTube and Veoh over 3G.

Oh well, I'll just keep an eye on my usage. ;)

Thanks for the info!

Diff

Jan 30, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to the iPhone (3gs purchased last Friday) and I plan on jailbreaking my phone (Yep, didn't dl 3.1.3). So much of the conversation around JB and tethering is a little foreign to me.

>> I've heard some horror stories about people who've tethered and then been slapped with a huge bill by AT&T.

I don't understand this? Let's say I dl PdaNet. Can one avoid this issue, tethering a lot, near or over the 5GB limit, by turning PdaNet off? Then again, don't know if there is a "On/Off" feature.

~ Thanks ~

flyingember

Jun 18, 2009
Visit site
The 5gb limit is not a published limit.

You could get hit with 4gb per month consistently. Only ATT knows for sure their threshholds

Feb 8, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to the iPhone (3gs purchased last Friday) and I plan on jailbreaking my phone (Yep, didn't dl 3.1.3). So much of the conversation around JB and tethering is a little foreign to me.

>> I've heard some horror stories about people who've tethered and then been slapped with a huge bill by AT&T.