Ugh, I'm spamming my own thread, but I wanted to clarify something...
I took my phone in to the Apple store to troubleshoot a weak WiFi issue (poor signal, compared to another iPhone right next to it). They suggested I do a restore and see if that fixed it, otherwise they could replace the phone.
Now, I've been considering jailbreaking it, so didn't want to upgrade to 3.1.3 just yet... if I click the "Restore" button in iTunes, will that automatically upgrade to the current version (3.1.3), or will it put the iPhone back at 3.1 or 3.1.2 or whatever it was when new (I forget what it was)? If it DOES put 3.1.3 on it, can I get back to 3.1.2 by restoring from the backup?
Hope that makes things clearer, thanks.